- Places To Go
- Things To Do
- What's New
Coindre Hall Information
- City/Village/Hamlet: Huntington
- Mailing Address: Browns Road, Huntington
- Phone: (631) 854-4410
- URL: http://www.co.suffolk.ny.us/departments/parks/Coindre%20Hall.aspx
George Brown estate, built 1910- After coming very close to demolition, this mansion alongside Huntington Harbor, is making a rebound. Marked by two towers on the front facade, this mansion is based on a French chateau design. The estate also contains a boat house of similar design. After the 1929 stock crash, Mr. Brown lost the estate, and it went through a few changes in ownership. As a school, an addition was added to it, among other changes.
Coindre Hall now houses the Museum of Long Island's Gold Coast, which features exhibits, photography and other artifacts from this unique and splendiferous era. The mansion is also a popular site for weddings, holiday celebrations, fund-raisers, auctions & antique shows.
Designed by architect Clarence Luce and built sometime between 1906 and 1911. Currently part of the Suffolk County Parks Department. Associated family names: George McKesson Brown. Associated institution names: Coindre Hall School. To view more estate pictures go to Lessing's Coindre Hall Page